Artefacts Overview - Achaea Online Help

19.10.1 Artefacts Overview

(see also HELP ARTEFACTS, HELP ARTEFACT TRADEINS, HELP ARTEFACT TRANSFERS)

Artefacts are special items that can be purchased only with Bound Credits.
Unless otherwise stated, artefacts can be purchased in Merentesh's series of
shops in Delos. They will reset into your inventory frequently, which means
they cannot be loaned out, or stolen(!), for very long. Some only work for
the owner. They never decay. They cannot be changed to reset to anyone
else's inventory, so do not buy artefacts of any kind if you intend to sell
them.

The specific artefacts available for purchase are all listed in the
following help files:

  - HELP OFFENSIVE ARTEFACTS
  - HELP DEFENSIVE ARTEFACTS
  - HELP STATS ARTEFACTS
  - HELP MISCELLANEOUS ARTEFACTS
  - HELP SHIP ARTEFACTS
  - HELP SHOP OF WONDERS
  - HELP ARTEFACT PETS

How To Purchase
---------------
Many artefacts are available to you in shops throughout the realms, primarily
in Delos, plus the artefact vial shop in Moghedu. Consult the above help files 
for any additional details on purchasing specific artefacts, such as bows or 
Earrings of Sinope.

For any other requests or special needs, email artefacts@achaea.com. Please be
very clear as to what you want to purchase and what you believe it will cost.
This is especially true in cases where you may be claiming a discount, or other
special consideration.


Artefacts as Gifts (see HELP ARTEFACT GIFTS)
--------------------------------------------
Artefacts may be given as gifts, but with a critical restriction: to buy an 
artefact as a gift, you MUST pay with UNBOUND credits. If your credits are 
bound, you must use them on yourself. You may not buy a gift with bound 
credits.

Beyond that, though this is not unique to gifts, please be aware that
an artefact gift is not transferrable or returnable, though if it is
normally something that could be traded in (which excludes pets) then
it can still be traded in by the person you gave it to.


Artefacts and Loaning
---------------------
Some artefacts may be used by individuals other than the owner. We consider 
this a perk, and you are free to lend your artefacts to others to use. This 
functionality may change for some or all artefacts in the future.

Artefacts that must be wielded to be used will be useless to anybody but the
owner. This has been true since at least 2005. So don't bother trying to loan
out an artefact you have to wield to use.


Note About Stacking
-------------------
Artefact effects (for similar artefacts) don't combine or stack. If you have,
say, a Collar of Ceylon and a Collar of Agatheis, both of which would normally
boost damage of a magical nature, then only one will boost damage of a magical
nature. If you have a Logosian Ring and a Mayan Ring, then only one will
increase the value of sipping a health elixir. In general, the best item rules,
but there may be exceptions. So don't count on having two artefacts and somehow
stacking their effects.


(see also HELP ARTEFACT TRADEINS and HELP ARTEFACT TRANSFERS)