RACES IN LUSTERNIA - Lusternia Online Help


All Lusternians start as one of the following races:

Human, Dwarf, Elfen, Dracnari, Faeling, Furrikin, Krokani, Aslaran,
Loboshigaru, Mugwump, Merian, Orclach, Igasho, Tae'dae, Taurian, Trill, 
Viscanti, Lucidian, Kephera or Illithoid.

There are additional races one may become over time, including the Changeling who may take the appearance of any of the above races.

You may gain information on the specific races with HELP <race>.

Each race has five basic statistics and some optional advantages/disadvantages.
HELP <race> will show you these.

Strength     : related to the physical damage you can do.
Dexterity    : related to how well you dodge attacks and, for warriors, gives a
               slight boost to wounding.
Constitution : related to your maximum endurance and health/hit points.
Intelligence : related to your maximum willpower and mana level, as well
               as how much damage your magical attacks do.
Charisma     : related to the strength of personality and ego, extremely
               important when using the influence skill.
Size         : related to how large (or small) you are, affects some 

Some disadvantages or advantages may come in one of three levels. For instance,
a level 1 resistance to fire is a smaller resistance than a level 3 resistance
to fire. Similarly, slow balance, level 3, means your balance is slower than
slow balance, level 1. Again, HELP <racename> will show you the statistics and
advantages/disadvantages for a race.

If you find yourself unhappy with your race, you have available to you, once in
your lifetime, a free reincarnation. While dead, you must journey to the 
Portal of Fate, and REINCARNATE INTO <race>. Doing so allows you to choose a
new race. You must be dead to reincarnate. 

The history of the specific races may be found in the Lusternian Mythology and 
the History of the Mortal Races (on the website and in the help files in the
History section). A minisummary of the origins of each race is below:

Aslaran        : Cat-like race, very fast.
Dracnari       : Dragon-like race, can breathe fire
Dwarf          : Small, though stout, people.
Elfen          : Lithe people of the forests.
Faeling        : A cross between an elfen and a fae creature.
Fink           : Twisted matriarchal race born in aetherspace.
Furrikin       : Tiny, furry people who are very fast.
Gnome          : Short, technological race who travel aetherspace.
Human          : The most adaptive of the Lusternian races.
Igasho         : Largest of all races, extremely hairy.
Illithoid      : Serpent-like psionic vampires.
Kephera        : Very matriarchal and psionic insectoids.
Krokani        : One-eyed giants.
Loboshigaru    : Wolf-like race, strong regeneration.
Lucidian       : Crystal people of logic and intellect.
Merian         : A very noble, waterbreathing race.
Mugwump        : Amphibious race with keen intellect.
Orclach        : Warrior race, large and strong.
Tae'dae        : Bear-like race, extremely charismatic and strong.
Taurian        : Bull-like race, dangerous in herds.
Trill          : Feathered, bird-like race that can fly.
Viscanti       : The Tainted race.
Wildewood      : A tree-like race with a deep bond.
Wyrdenwood     : A tree-like race with a deep bond.

If you are looking for members of your own race, RACEWHO (or just RWHO) will
show you people online, who are visible to you, of your race.