Artifacts - Midkemia Online Online Help

19.9 Artifacts

(See also HELP ARTIFACTS DEFENSIVE, HELP ARTIFACTS MISC,
          HELP ARTIFACTS OFFENSIVE, HELP ARTIFACTS STATS,
          HELP ARTIFACTS TRADEINS,  HELP ARTIFACTS UPGRADES,
          HELP RENTING ARTIFACTS    and HELP CREDITS)

Artifacts are special items that can be purchased only with Bound Credits(*).
Artifacts can be purchased from anywhere by using ARTIFACT WARES. Most only work for the owner. They never decay. In most cases, they are invested into crafted items to function, via ARTIFACT INVEST <item> WITH <power> after you have purchased an artifact. Ownership of an artifact can't be transferred, so do not buy artifacts of any kind if you intend to sell them.

Artifacts have been broken up into several categories:

DEFENSIVE, OFFENSIVE, STATS, and MISCELLANEOUS.


How to Purchase
---------------
Most artifacts are available to purchase in the artifact shop. You can see the shop's inventory from anywhere by doing ARTIFACT WARES. Then you can simply ARTIFACT BUY <artifact> to purchase one.

When you purchase an artifact, it shows up in your ARTIFACT LIST. Artifacts
are not physical items, so you can never lose, misplace them, or have them
stolen from you.


(*)Artifacts as Gifts
---------------------
Artifacts may be given as gifts, but with a critical restriction:
- to buy an artifact as a gift, you MUST pay with UNBOUND credits
  If your credits are bound, you must use them on yourself.
  You may not buy a gift with bound credits.

Beyond that, though this is not unique to gifts, please be aware that an artifact gift is not transferrable or returnable, though if it is normally something that could be traded in (which excludes pets) then it can still be traded in by the person you gave it to.

To purchase an artifact as a gift, do ARTIFACT BUY <artifact> FOR <lucky person>.


Investing Artifacts
-------------------
Many artifacts must be invested into a crafted item to function properly. Then, the crafted item must be wielded or worn by the owner. If you are unsure whether you are receiving the benefit of an artifact, simply check ARTIFACT LIST and it will display your current artifacts, as well as whether or not the power is currently active.

To invest an artifact, simply ARTIFACT INVEST <item> WITH <power>. This will permanently invest it into the item. When the item decays or is destroyed, you will be able to invest the power into a new item. In this way, you can update the look of your artifacts over time as your tastes and preferences change (or as fun new designs become available).

If you wish to return the power of the artifact to you before the item decays naturally, you can ARTIFACT RECALL <power> to do so, but note that it will irreversibly destroy the item in which the power has been invested.


Note About Stacking or Combining Artifacts
------------------------------------------
If artifacts do completely different things, then they operate properly.

If artifacts do the same thing (such as boost magical damage, or increase health regeneration), but perhaps with different power (such as a level 1 or level 2 striking jewels) then only one operates.

If you have, say, an Icy Jewel of Striking and a Fire Jewel of Striking, then only one will boost the damage and rate at which you land critical hits. In these cases, the higher valued artifact is always the one that works. The other artifact has no effect.

In general, the best item rules, but there may be exceptions. So don't count on having two artifacts and somehow stacking or combining their effects.

Instead, to receive a higher benefit, you will have to upgrade the lower-tier artifact power to a more potent version. See HELP ARTIFACT UPGRADES for notes on how to do this.


Estate Upgrades and Artifacts
-----------------------------
Estate upgrades are listed separately under HELP ESTATE UPGRADES, and are not sold in the artifact shop.


Renting Artifacts
-----------------
You can rent artifacts on a temporary basis from Althafain of Carse, the world's most renowned enchanter. This requires possessing a nexus core, and a gold cost to offset Althafain's expenses and cover his fees. Simply ARTIFACT RENT to rent an artifact of your choice. Certain artifacts may not be rented, as they confer powers that persist beyond when the artifact would decay (such as a stat reset).


(See also HELP ARTIFACTS DEFENSIVE, HELP ARTIFACTS MISC,
          HELP ARTIFACTS OFFENSIVE, HELP ARTIFACTS STATS,
          HELP ARTIFACTS TRADEINS,  HELP ARTIFACTS UPGRADES,
          HELP RENTING ARTIFACTS    and HELP CREDITS)